New Spam

Is anyone else getting hit with a flood of new spam emails offering part-time work? I've been getting 20-30 messages per hour, each starting out as follows:

International company Web Electronic Industry is taking the candidates in the USA for the position of Local Agent. We are looking for the trustworthy person with excellent organizational and communicative skills. Good knowledge of computer and business relations practice will be your advantage. This is a part-time job which can be combined with any permanent or another part-time job. Average workload is up to 8 hours a week. No special experience is necessary. Excellent compensation package, the salary starts from $20,000 a year. If you got interested in our vacancy and you have any questions, please contact us staff@w-ei.com. The offer is for USA citizens only.

This introductory language – apparently written by a non-native English speaker – is followed by a rather lengthy paragraph of excerpts from various technical articles, inexplicably dealing with nanotechnology and designed to sneak the message past spam filters.

The spammers have conveniently provided an email link for interested parties, staff@w-ei.com. The domain, which was registered only about three weeks ago by someone in Italy, leads to a placeholder webpage apparently located on a server in the UK.

I thought about setting up a temporary email address and replying to the message to see what comes next, but decided it was too much trouble. I'm just curious as to whether anyone else is getting these messages, or has someone simply noticed my cash flow and decided I could be doing better?

As spam goes, it could be much worse. But why does anyone think something like this works? My guess is that the subsequent steps for those who respond to the solicitation involve the sharing of personal information, which is the end game for the spammer.

Comments

One of our support email address has been hit all day with these emails.

Posted by: Jon at September 14, 2007 03:55 PM

I got hit by this s*** too. I'm p*****d off ! ! ! The amount of spam sent is insane.

The best may be to send a mailbomb to their reply email address. At least they won't make money and they may have their account canceled faster by their ISP.

Posted by: Franck at September 14, 2007 04:01 PM

Today I received over 200 mails of this type...

Posted by: Walt at September 14, 2007 04:20 PM

Well, rats. I was sure this was an exclusive offer directed to me because of my superior skilz.

Posted by: Eric at September 14, 2007 04:38 PM

I got a punch of these as well. I even replied asking for more info. so I can visit and shove something big up their gazoo. When will spammer stop? Why can't anyone stop them? I like junk mail/email and junk in general but this it out of control.. Oh well at least I have my hair... oh wait, I'm bolding.

Posted by: AQ at September 14, 2007 04:49 PM

Yeah, I was getting a lot too, until I went into my mail server and had anything with that address redirected to some siegmund.com something or other address.....where ever that is.

:>]

Posted by: Wallace at September 14, 2007 05:36 PM

Yes, here too. The volume increased to well over 150 per hour, but it totally died down just now. I created a filter in Apple Mail to take care of it (straight to the trash). Luckily he used the same body text each time. Hope he got busted!

Posted by: Krip at September 14, 2007 05:38 PM

Krip, I finally set up a rule to automatically forward a copy of each message to the email address shown in the body of the spam. I'll bet if everyone who got the spam had done that, it would have brought his server to its knees.

Posted by: Eric at September 14, 2007 08:43 PM

I guess that they decided I was making enough money - cause I didn't get any emails hehe.

Posted by: Rach at September 14, 2007 09:20 PM

Hola todos,

I have the same problem, 600 mails today... hijo de p...

I find this link on google but I don't understand... ooops.
http://people.debian.org/~terpstra/message/20070912.105610.e6701c72.en.html

I think it's a linux hacker, the best system for that...

Posted by: sophie at September 15, 2007 12:57 AM

I didn't get one but I did get an email from the "IRS" saying I had been selected(!) to receive a refund. And another email in chinese (or japanese) that probably said the same thing.

Posted by: Jim at September 15, 2007 02:09 PM

I received the same email just once -- 2 hours ago. The "From: kim phillip icap@artel.com" was info I didn't see in your messages, so I thought you may be interested. The domain is used by Artel Video Systems, a legit-sounding co. in Boxborough, MA (01719 USA) with a website and #'s/email addresses to contact 24/7/365 for technical service, repairs or customer service (800-225-0228, Select 1 for Technical Support or Repairs).

Incidentally I received my 'invitation' in a mailbox I set up last year, yet today is the first time I ever checked it -- or used it. I was skeptical, but I thought I WAS THE SPECIAL ONE!! There's a bunch of other spam in this 'virgin' email box though . . . Mike

Posted by: Mike at September 16, 2007 05:58 AM

I just spoke with tech support at Artel and informed them of all this. It is too large a company for the person to tell me if they have a 'Kim Phillip' in their company, but they verified with me that their notes of the incident were accurate and assured me someone would get back to me Monday morning.

Posted by: Mike at September 16, 2007 06:14 AM

I work for Artel Video Systems in Boxborough, MA and YES we are a legit company. NO we do not have a KIM or a CORY and YES the IT Dept is aware of what is going on.
We are a small company of 37 and I am pretty sure I am the one who took the call from Mike when he called in Friday morning betweeen 10 and 11 AM

I am sorry that you have received junk mail but I am certain that we did not attack any of you who may have received it

Posted by: Sarah Evans at September 16, 2007 07:21 AM

Mike, you should never rely on the "from" address in spam. The spammers always hijack innocent email addresses to send their trash. In this case, I'm sure Artel had nothing to do with the offending message, although I appreciate Sarah's taking the time to respond.

Posted by: Eric at September 16, 2007 09:06 AM

These emails are not coming from Artel. If you look at the IP address of the orginal sender you'll notice it is not our artel.com ip address. Someone has been sending emails out saying they came from artel.com. I have traced most of the original IP address to various servers in Russia. If you turn on your "Reverse IP" lookup on your server these emails will be blocked. They can lie and say thier email address is artel.com but they can't use our IP address.

This kind of thing happens a lot. They use thousand of servers to send mail out so I can't track it to one server. They choose our domain for some reason now. There is nothing I can do to stop it. I'm not happy about name being used like this either. But who do I call to stop someone who may be somewhere in Russia?

Posted by: Dan at September 17, 2007 07:48 AM

Dan, we've all been there. My domain name has been hijacked a number of times and placed on spam in the sender field. It's an unfortunate side effect of living in a digital age.

Posted by: Eric at September 17, 2007 10:00 AM

Well the big spam lists like spamhaus have not blocked us. They look at the IP alone. They are marking the people out there that have an unsecure smtp server that are relaying these emails. But I'm sure many individuals are blocking mail from artel.com.

Posted by: Dan at September 17, 2007 11:03 AM

But I'm sure many individuals are blocking mail from artel.com.

I suppose it's possible, but here's my theory: those who are smart enough to know how to block an address are also smart enough to uderstand that the spam isn't actually coming from you.

Posted by: Eric at September 17, 2007 11:21 AM

Things are pretty quiet on my home e-mail front (for once). However, my work address (which I use only for work and so can't figure out how it got in the hands of spammers) is being hit by a flood of offers for... eh... things that hum.

And I don't mean ads for beekeepers' school.

Posted by: Foo at September 17, 2007 11:43 AM

Foo, did you put your email address on your company website? That's the kiss of death. You'll get tons of spam after that. Even when you posted it on sites like this they can find it. Just like google does.

Posted by: Dan at September 17, 2007 01:40 PM
Post a comment [Take your time...we're in no hurry.]









Remember personal info?